Lazy Woman’s Bread and Butter Pickles

Have you ever used pickling cucumbers before? I hadn’t, and I hadn’t really even given them a thought until I received a pound of them in my Chow Locally CSA box. I have made refrigerator pickles before, and I was excited to make them again with some actual pickling cucumbers! I am a huge fan of sweet pickles, and I only recently have come to enjoy dill pickles as well. When I was a kid, my brother and I ate sweet pickles like nobody’s business! They were always the first thing to go on the relish trays mom would set out when we had get-togethers. I could eat sweet pickles and bread and butter pickles all day long, but don’t even bring those dill pickles near me!

Lazy Woman's Bread and Butter Pickles | Eat Healthy Be Happy

After they came out of the fridge

At one of my favorite Mediterranean joints I ordered a broiled chicken pita that came with pickles on it, and forgot to order it without. I decided, what the heck, to go ahead and try out the pickles on there. They were tangy and savory without the hint of sweetness I usually want in a pickle, but they were still delicious! I’ve been munching on dill pickles ever since, I even order the giant pickle from Jimmy John’s when I have a sandwich for lunch at work.

Lazy Woman's Bread and Butter Pickles | Eat Healthy Be Happy

Waiting for the pickling liquid

Bread and butter pickles are kind of a happy medium. They have a bit of savoryness to them, with that sweet flavor that I enjoy so much. The bread and butter pickle recipes that I looked up all called for turmeric and mustard seed, neither of which I had in my pantry. I had no desire to trek to the grocery store (hence the “Lazy Woman” part of the recipe!) I decided to sub something that had both mustard seed and turmeric in it- Yellow Mustard. Mustard seeds are a golden/brown in color so turmeric is what gives yellow mustard its characteristic bright yellow color. The pickles turned out great. This would be a hit at any backyard barbeque! How many times do you see homemade pickles at those things? Anyway, I hope you give these a shot!

Lazy Woman's Bread and Butter Pickles | Eat Healthy Be Happy

Lazy Woman’s Bread and Butter Pickles
Based on Smitten Kitchen’s version 

Ingredients:
1 lb pickling cucumbers, sliced
1 sweet onion, thinly sliced
1 1/2 tbsp kosher salt (more to taste, if desired)
1 c. vinegar*
3/4 – 1 c. sugar (I used 1 c., Smitten Kitchen used 3/4 and found them too sweet for her.)
1 tbsp yellow mustard
1 tbsp coriander seed
1/4 tsp celery seed

Put the sliced cucumber and onion in a bowl and toss with the kosher salt. Let sit in the refrigerator for 1 1/2 hours

5-10 minutes before it’s time to take the cucumber out of the refrigerator, combine the vinegar, sugar, mustard, coriander seed, and celery seed in a pot and bring to a boil. Once it comes to a boil, cut of the heat.

Remove the cucumbers from the refrigerator and drain off any excess liquid. Put the pickles in a mason jar or other airtight container (make sure to get any salt left in the bowl!) and then pour the hot liquid over them. Place the lid on the jar and allow the cucumbers to hang out until they’ve cooled to room temperature. Stick them in the fridge.

I’d say they’ll keep for at least a month in the fridge. Pickles always seem to keep forever, though. 🙂 Enjoy!

Lazy Woman's Bread and Butter Pickles | Eat Healthy Be Happy

These turned out really delicious! Even the boyfriend who doesn’t like sweet pickles liked these Bread and Butter pickles. Side note, since yellow mustard is made with mustard powder, the liquid can get a little cloudy. Don’t worry about it! Just give it a good shake if it bothers you. 😉

Be Happy! 🙂

*I used white vinegar because it’s what I had on hand (Lazy, remember?) I think apple cider vinegar would be even better (I would have used apple cider but I was out). You could also use unseasoned rice wine vinegar, although I haven’t tried that personally.

9 thoughts on “Lazy Woman’s Bread and Butter Pickles

  1. Refrigerator pickles are awesome. And all home pickles beat the ones in the store, which usually have food coloring and sometimes corn syrup. Thanks for sharing!

  2. pickled cucumber is a regular treat in ME food..!! Arabs serve a lot of picled veggies with the mixed grill platter/ shawarma etc..!!

Leave a Reply

