Spiced Zucchini Fritters

I’m excited about today’s post! I tweeted it last week when I made these and man, were they tasty! This recipe idea came to me when I was brainstorming what to do with the chickpea flour I got in my CSA box. I’d made the Socca initially and I still had some zucchini from the week before and fritters just seemed like the perfect combination!

Zucchini Chickpea Fritters

I was really torn on how to season these because I think they would be wonderful full of herbs like thyme, marjoram, and/or basil. They would go perfect with a creamy pesto dressing/dipping sauce (which I will have the recipe for in my next Salad 101 post!)! But, I decided to go with some spice instead of herbs and try out the Garam Masala I bought a while back that hadn’t been opened yet. I’d never used Garam Masala, but it’s a common Indian spice mix that usually is made of some combination of cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, cumin, coriander, and black pepper. The sweet spices, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg, make these fritters reminiscent of zucchini bread, but they are decidedly savory. I had originally planned on making a sauce for these but I loved they way they tasted on their own so much that I just served them with a bit of sour cream and a lemon wedge.

Zucchini Chickpea Fritters

These turned out to be a very successful experiment! Not only are they tasty, but you get in a serving of veggies. Since you’re using chickpea flour instead of wheat flour these have fewer carbs and are also gluten free. You can substitute regular flour for the chickpea flour, but be careful not to overmix the fritters, you wouldn’t want them to be tough. I just kept adding chickpea flour and mixing until I got the right batter like consistency.

Zucchini Chickpea Fritters

Zucchini Fritters

Ingredients
3 medium zucchini, shredded (About 3.5 c.)
1 tsp kosher  salt (plus more to taste)
1 spring onion or 1/2 of a medium white or sweet onion sliced
1/2 – 3/4 c. chickpea flour
1 egg lightly beaten
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp garam masala
A few grinds of black pepper
Olive Oil

Shred the zucchini (if you have a food processor break it out!). Put it in a colander in the sink and sprinkle the kosher salt over it. Toss so the zucchini is coated in the salt and allow to sit for 30 minutes or so. After 30 minutes have passed squeeze the excess water out of the zucchini by either pressing it with a wooden spoon or spatula or squeezing it in handfuls (I usually to the latter). Don’t skip this step! Otherwise you’ll have soggy fritters!

In a large skillet over medium heat saute the onion until translucent. Put everything in a bowl except the olive oil and mix until combined. Start with 1/2 c. of the chickpea flour and add more if needed 1 tbsp at a time until you achieve a thick batter.

Put about 1/4 c. of olive oil in the pan or enough to thoroughly coat the bottom of the pan to shallow fry the fritters. When to temp (you can test by throwing a tiny bit of batter in there and if it sizzles, it’s ready) drop the fritters in. I used a 1/4 c. to measure them. Cook 3-5 minutes on each side until golden brown. You can keep them warm in the oven on its lowest setting until all the batter has been cooked. Make sure to replenish the oil if necessary.

Makes about 8 fritters.

Serve with sour cream and a lemon wedge, if desired and ENJOY!

Zucchini Chickpea Fritters

Be Happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

