Banana Nut Oatmeal

I’m feeling a little under the weather over here at Eat Healthy; my tonsils look like they ran a marathon before hopping back into my throat. Oatmeal was the perfect easy to eat thing for my sore throat this morning. I also had some very ripe bananas that needed to be put to good use so I decided to make my banana nut oatmeal.

Banana Nut Oatmeal Easy Breakfast

This is really simple and quick, and gives the oatmeal some great flavor. This time I used vanilla almond milk as my liquid. I always have it on hand because we use it in our breakfast smoothies. It’s already sweetened so between it and the banana the need for additional sugar is gone (one less thing to add is always good on a groggy morning!). But, you can use regular milk or even water if that’s what you have on hand. You’ll want to add some brown sugar or honey to give it that little extra sweetness, though.

This recipe serves one but it can easily be doubled or even quadrupled to serve more. I used half of a banana and put the other half in the freezer to use in a smoothie (yes, you can expect a smoothie post or two in the future ;)).

Banana Nut Oatmeal Easy Breakfast

Banana Nut Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/2 of a ripe banana (brown spots are encouraged), mashed
1 c. vanilla almond milk
1/2 c. oats
1/4-1/2 tsp cinnamon (depending on how much cinnamon flavor you want)
A pinch of salt
1 tbsp chopped nuts (I used walnuts but almonds, pecans, or hazelnuts would be good too)
*Optional: Brown sugar or honey to taste

Directions:

Add the oats, almond milk, salt, and cinnamon in a small pot or microwave safe bowl and cook as normal. Stir in the mashed banana and nuts. Enjoy and Stay Healthy! 😉

3 thoughts on “Banana Nut Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

