Sweet and Sour Slaw

Wow, I am so excited about the great response I got to my first post! I may have been checking my blog stats more often than not, excitedly exclaiming to my boyfriend every time I received a comment or like. 😉 So thank you, and I hope that your enjoyment continues with today’s post. 🙂

Summer is grilling season! And here in sunny AZ that means pool time with friends. Of corse those burgers need some kind of side to go with them, and this sweet and sour slaw is a refreshing alternative to the mayonnaise laden slaws of yore! This is also actually a copy cat recipe. I was born and raised in Ohio and I moved out to AZ with my job two years ago. While I’ve been enjoying the weather change (mostly, I mean it’s nice to see the sun more than 5 times a year 😉 ) what’s been lacking in my life is a quality BBQ joint. I’ve found a few that are okay but nothing like City Barbeque back home. This “Sweet Vinegar Slaw” is one of my favorite sides there (third in line behind their Corn Pudding and Cucumber Salad… so yummy!) and such a great alternative to the creamy slaw that I usually avoid. Aside from the vinaigrette dressing, the differentiating flavor for this slaw is the green bell pepper.

Now I will admit that this is one recipe I where I take some help from the store. I use the angel hair shredded cabbage from Dole. Who wants to spend all morning shredding cabbage, anyway?? 😉 You could easily use their regular slaw mix or, heck, grate your own carrots in there! Whatever makes you happy! On that note, you could easily omit the bell pepper if that’s not a flavor that you enjoy.

I hope you try this light and refreshing slaw out for your next grilling adventure!


Sweet and Sour Slaw

Ingredients:
1 bag of angel hair shredded cabbage
1/2 of a green bell pepper, finely diced

Dressing:
1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp onion, finely minced
1/4 tsp dijon mustard
1/4 tsp celery seed
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

I would recommend making the dressing first so the flavors have time to hang out and get a little friendly. You could even make the dressing a couple of hours ahead of time or let it hang out while you’re preparing other food items for your barbeque.

In a wet measuring cup or small bowl add all of the dressing ingredients except for the olive oil. Using a mini whisk or fork, stir the ingredients until combined and the sugar is dissolved. While whisking, drizzle in the olive oil. The dijon will act as a binder so you don’t have a layer of oil on top. On a side note if you don’t have dijon on hand and aren’t inclined to buy some you could use stone ground mustard or even yellow mustard. Dijon is my go-to mustard for vinaigrettes, though.

Set the dressing to the side and prepare the bell pepper. The best way to get the fine dice is to slice the pepper into thin strips and then cut those into small pieces.

Combine the shredded cabbage, bell pepper, and dressing in a serving or tupperware container (for ease of transportation to your own back yard or barbeque destination 🙂 ). It is ready to eat as is, but it is better if it gets to hang out for an hour or two before it’s served. Enjoy as a side with brats, burgers, grilled chicken, or some good old fashioned BBQ.

Happy Memorial Day, Healthy Eaters! And remember to Be Happy! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour Slaw

  1. Thanks so much!! I love their coleslaw, yes, I am from Oh io, lol..Where did you live in OH….Dayton here…Now, I won’t have to run to CB to get coleslaw!!

Leave a Reply

